Occurring on the first and second days of the Jewish calendar, Rosh Hashanah is one of the high holidays, or holiest days, in the Jewish faith. It is the first celebration of the Jewish New Year. The foods eaten on Rosh Hashanah symbolize blessings for the upcoming year. Sweet foods are typically eaten for this reason, in hopes for a “sweet” year ahead. Pomegranates, apples dipped in honey, honey cakes, and challah bread are some traditional foods that many Jews eat in celebration.
For those who are gluten-free and wish to celebrate, Rosh Hashanah is special in that many foods are inherently gluten-free! Challah bread, a classic staple in traditional Jewish celebrations, is an exception, but we’ve got you covered with a recipe from the esteemed cookbook Nosh on This: Gluten-Free Baking from a Jewish-American Kitchen.
Jews observe Yom Kippur 10 days after Rosh Hashanah. It is the holiest day of the Jewish year. While this holiday is best known for its lack of food due to a full-day fast, there are many foods to look forward to for breaking the fast. Dates, noodle and potato kugels, cheese blintzes, eggs, bagels and lox – all the rich flavors you look forward to savoring after a day without food!
These hearty break-fast dishes pose more of a challenge for those who are gluten-free. Wheat is present in the noodle kugel, blintzes, and bagels, but quick swaps using gluten-free noodles, flours and even store-bought bagels are easy ways to replace these favorites.